We all deserve better

Wednesday, 10 September, 2008 at 16:27 4 comments

Thanks to my homepage at VG Cats, some funny videos with an important msg have been brought to my attention.

THIS IS ESPECIALLY IMPORTANT IF YOU BUY VIDEO GAMES OR KNOW ANYONE WHO DOES.

What’s the problem? It’s time we all stand up to the evil chain of stores know as GAMEST0P.

Years ago I become an avid customer of the Electronic Boutique (also know as EB Games). I used to get all my new and used games from their online shop while I was overseas and in Texas. I loved them. However, after the GAMEST0P takeover, the policies around EB changed for the worse.

Even after I moved to Orlando I continued to shop there, and pre-order (either in-store or online). My only excuse is that I had formed a habit around doing so. It was around that time when I started to get a sinking feeling in my gut. I began doing a lot more shopping at Amazon.com, BestBuy, or even Target. GAMEST0P it out of control.

The following series of videos is both entertaining and informative on the crisis that faces not just us Gamers, but also American Consumers as a whole. We CANNOT allow crazy evil businesses like this one to thrive in our country due to our own ignorance. There are TONS of BETTER places to SHOP for GAMES!!!

Zero Originality – Intro
Zero Originality – Episode 1-1
Zero Originality – Episode 1-2
Zero Originality – Episode 2-1
Zero Originality – Episode 2-2
Zero Originality – Episode 3-1
Zero Originality – Episode 3-1 (continued)
Zero Originality – Episode 3-2
Zero Originality – Episode 3-2 (continued)
Zero Originality – Episode 3-2 (conclusion)
Zero Originality – A Special Thanks

I hope you take time to watch these and learn something. PLEASE tell- WARN- your friends and family to avoid such corrupt businesses!

Thank You.
– Mouse Out

Entry filed under: Video Games, ~announcements. Tags: , , , , .

new pages and widgets MORE photos on Flickr

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gil  |  Wednesday, 10 September, 2008 at 17:31

    I also was an avid customer of Electronics Boutique. I was truly disappointed once it was bought out by Gamestop. I still do some game shopping at Gamestop but only when there is a special that I can’t get somewhere else ie limited editions of select few games.

    Reply
  • 2. Ty_Sylicus  |  Thursday, 11 September, 2008 at 14:21

    I hear you there Gil. Even though I’m against the monster, sometimes a man has to do what is best (like not passing up a good deal!).

    Thanks for you comment. ^_^

    Reply
  • 3. aortiz  |  Thursday, 11 September, 2008 at 15:29

    Also watched these videos. This stuff needs immediate attention, and pronto.

    Also:
    He mentioned how game developers don’t actually make any money from used game sales, but he didn’t even go into the half of it. Think about a game you really like, like Halo if you want to be a stereotype. Now imagine that most people by Halo off a used copy, and then bring it back only to be bought again used, Gamestop will be making ridiculous sales and the game will be getting ridiculously small fractional revenue off that game. Consider that for every new copy of Halo sold, maybe as few as $10 to $5 will actually go to Bungie. That means they’ll have a lot less money to pay off the making of the game, and even less to start making the next one. So Halo 2 would have never been made.

    If you want sequels, or you want companies you like to keep making games, buy their games new. Actually, even try buying the games directly from the developers themselves. They sometimes even offer shipping. The more money goes to them, the better. You don’t want your money going mostly to Wal-Mart and Gamestop, do you?

    Reply
  • 4. Ty_Sylicus  |  Thursday, 11 September, 2008 at 17:22

    VERY valid points aortiz. Games take millions to make and they only ask us to pay around $40-60. I mean C’MON! I know we’ll all broke Americans lately but, if you TRULY love and appreciate a game and it’s developers then you’ll shell out the cash to keep them afloat.

    Thanks for your comment. ^_^

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


“Where there’s a Will, there’s a way.”

look here for older stuff

blogs to LOVE

Ty on Flickr

...My Amazon.com Wish List

I am a Resolute Protector

P.S. I Love You

Normalisr

Ty_Sylicus's Profile Page

