METAL late then never/better GEAR and now/a SOLID recovery

Friday, 27 February, 2009 at 14:08 2 comments

This is a short blog about METAL GEAR SOLID.

The game has been around for over 10 years now; starting with “Metal Gear” for NES, and followed by: “Metal Gear 2” for NES, “Metal Gear Solid” 1, 2, 3 for PS2, and “4” for PS3 (and “VR Missions” for PS1). Also, there’s been several releases on PSP. Most notably are “Metal Gear Ac!d” 1 & 2, and “Portable Opps”.

Now where do I come in? Well I own a copy of Metal Gear for NES! I thought it was a great game, so when Solid came out for PS I went and got a used copy about a year later. I played but never finished for whatever reason.

When MGS 2 came out, I didn’t really bother getting it since I hadn’t finished one but, I did buy the extras “Substance” edition for future play.

With MGS 3, I didn’t bother with it at all. Some goes with the PSP games.

BUT, now it’s different. I can no longer turn a blind gamer’s thumb to the greatness that is METAL GEAR. So, two weeks ago I re-started the first game for PS and played through to the 2nd disc- where I died and have since then not been able to reload my game. >.< (So I started Rogue Galaxy)

Since then I’ve been doing so discovery online about the series and learned all kinds of things. Wow! is what I think. And now I want to play them all! (save for Ac!d…for now)

Good news- they made a remake of MGS for Gamecube called “The Twin Snakes”. It features sweetly rendered 3D cut-scenes! If I want to finish MGS, I would be perfectly willing to replay from the start again (for the 3rd time…). Afterall, it would be even faster than before! Sadly though, “Twin Snakes” is going for $30 used on Amazon. T_T So much for that.

So, here’s my plan! I’ll play VR Missions first, then play MS2 (since I have them both). After that I’ll get the Subsistence version of MGS3 (hopefully it’s not too expensive by then), or Twin Snakes, and lastly Portable Opps. ^_^

(Anyone notice the easter egg in the URL? hehehe…)

Entry filed under: Video Games. Tags: .

March is looking exciting for new music! The Shinbi [PV]

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. darawr  |  Thursday, 12 March, 2009 at 2:12

    Yesssssssssss.. best game of all times. Well it’s on the list of best game of all times. I love it. Playing it was exciting. I had my adernaline rush. The storyline was well written and game play was fantastic. :) It was a lot of fun.

    Reply
  • 2. Ty_Sylicus  |  Thursday, 12 March, 2009 at 12:38

    hahaha. Wow, honey so hyper of the MSG! =o Actually, I really suck at it. XD I was playing MGS on “easy” mode. I’m going to play MSG2 on “very easy”. XD

    Actually, I still think it’s quite shocking to imagine you playing a Metal Gear game, or any Action style game for that matter. O.o It’s just had to imagine Dara = Gamer…

    (Did you like the post title? =D )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


“Where there’s a Will, there’s a way.”

look here for older stuff

blogs to LOVE

Ty on Flickr

...My Amazon.com Wish List

I am a Resolute Protector

P.S. I Love You

Normalisr

Ty_Sylicus's Profile Page

