Utada, Poetry, and the Furious Fast

Wednesday, 18 March, 2009 at 12:33 4 comments

The 10th track on Utada’s new American album is called “Me Muero”. For those who don’t know, I’ve looked it up for us:

Me Muero = (Spanish for “I Die”)

Interestingly enough, I also found this out on Wiki:

“Me Muero” (Spanish for “I Die”) is La 5ª Estación’s second single release from their third studio album, El mundo se equivoca.
“Me Muero” was officially released to American and Latin American radio towards the end of 2006. In Mexico the song topped the official singles charts for eleven weeks in a row. In the United States the song peaked at number two on the Latin Pop Airplay chart and number ten on the Hot Latin Tracks chart. In Spain the song peaked at number two.

La Quinta Estación (Spanish for “The 5th Season”; often spelled La 5ª Estación) is a Latin Grammy-award winning Spanish pop/rock band composed of two musicians from Madrid: Natalia Jiménez (lead singer and harmonica) and Ángel Reyero (guitar). Pablo Domínguez (2001-2008) (guitar and bass) was the third member until his recent split. The band originated in Madrid with six members but the remaining three relocated to Mexico in 2001 after recording their first album Primera toma (“Take #1”).

Interesting…I wonder if Utada is a fan of the group, of just of their hit single “Me Muero”. Either way, her version of the song is pretty cool- though I’m only saying that in optimism.

—–

A short story about poetry…

Last week I bumped into one of the librarian ladies typing something up. This was unusual b/c most of the time they would use their own computers behind the desk, not the public ones on the floor. “Ours don’t have Word,” she said. What? I thought. “Well what are you typing up? I inquired. She explained that she was writing poetry for a school course. I didn’t even know she was in school, and mentioned my shock. She laughed and asked if I ever wrote any poems of my own. “But of course!” I exclaimed!

Later that day I spent over an hour digging through my flash drive to find all my favorites. I printed out a 3 page doc, complete with small descriptions (and translations from Japanese) for the poems. I handed it too her and forgot all about it. This was two weeks ago.

So tdy she sneaks up behind me and taps my shoulder (which isn’t difficult to do when I’m wearing my headphones and doing some in-depth reading online!). To my surprise, she really enjoyed my poems! She detailed how she had read them over many times and really felt the meaning behind my words. I was very flattered to say the least. Then she said she’ll try to bring in some of her own (as I had asked), though she just keeps forgetting to.

If they’re good, which I’m sure they will be, I’ll share them on this blog. ^_^

OMG! New Fast & Furious film! Watch the Trailer below!
(I’m sure you’ve seen ads all over the place but one more can’t hurt. :P)

The new film stars Vin Diesel and showcases the events that take place between the second and third films in the series. (Talk about milking it!). But it’s ok b/c we all know this movie (should) kick a lot of ass! In theatres April 3.

Entry filed under: Music, Randomness. Tags: , .

see ya tues next dang

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. vagoo  |  Friday, 20 March, 2009 at 13:30

    Didn’t even know they had made a new Fast & Furious movie.. Haven’t been anythign about it here, maybe it will end up beeing a STV.

    Reply
  • 2. Ty_Sylicus  |  Tuesday, 24 March, 2009 at 12:37

    Hopefully it’s not a box-office bust. Hey, what’s STV?

    Reply
  • 3. darawr  |  Wednesday, 20 May, 2009 at 0:36

    LOL I can never understand you when you speak in Spanish. I guess that’s great that you have a greater advantage of me in languages(yes in Japanese and other languages).

    FAST AND THE FURIOUS!! WOOHOO. I didn’t get to see that movie, but I heard from a friend that they saw it and it was good. Paul Walker+Vin Diesel =HOTNESS!! WOOT WOOT WOOT *DROOLS* ROFL :d:d:d:d:d

    Reply
    • 4. Ty_Sylicus  |  Wednesday, 20 May, 2009 at 13:41

      The hardest part about languages is memorizing all those damn verbs and conjugations. Grammar and Vocab are the easier parts, while Pronunciation varies from one language to another. *coughcoughThaicoughLaotioncoughcough*

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


“Where there’s a Will, there’s a way.”

look here for older stuff

blogs to LOVE

Ty on Flickr

...My Amazon.com Wish List

I am a Resolute Protector

P.S. I Love You

Normalisr

Ty_Sylicus's Profile Page

