Music of the Month 2010.05 MAY

Saturday, 5 June, 2010 at 2:03 3 comments

MAY

What a big month! Ayu dropped a new, subpar, album; four new artists I’ve been following all released a debut album (all of which were below my expectations); J.ae returned to us to release her first (though “mini”) album in nearly three years; a little Korean chick named E.via made me want to shake it (nearly everyday!); and Usher plus Charice both shook up my English music selection (Eg is rare on my iTunes, like fat in Skim Milk).

Overall, this was a very busy, yet disappointing month. I listened my ass off to these debut albums and only came away with a couple of 3 or 4 outta 5 songs and some yawns. *yawns*. WTC?! Is it just me, or has J-Pop been in a recession? Hikki is silent, Koda and Ayu are releasing crap. Cheh, only Namie really brought some new magic to the table. I’m very happy with her!

singles:
* ~ AI – FAKE feat. Namie Amuro
* ~ CHEMISTRY – Period
# Ai Otsuka – Zokkondition / LUCKY☆STAR
* ~ MiChi – All about the Girls ~Iijyanka Party People~/ Together again

albums:
~ Ayumi Hamasaki – Rock ‘n’ Roll Circus
# ~ Lee Hyori – Vol.4 – H-Logic
#? school food punishment – amp-reflection
#? Sugawara Sayuri – First Story
#? Kalafina – Red Moon
#? Tsuji Shion – Catch!

mini-albums:
* J.ae – Sentimental
* E.Via – Must Have Mini Album

English albums:
Rob Thomas – Cradlesong [2009]
~ Usher – Raymond V. Raymond
Charice – Charice (self tilted debut album)
Toni Braxton – Pulse [for my mom]

songs / digital singles:
* J – Electro Project Album – Love Child [2008]
* J – Dream Catcher [2009]
* J – Dream (feat. Supreme Team) [2009]

remixes:
Koda Kumi – Driving Hit’s 2

other:
BoA – IDENTITY Tour 2010 (sound recording)

new artists:
Charice

*most addictive album(s):
Usher – Raymond V. Raymond
Charice – Charice (self tilted debut album)
E.Via – Must Have Mini Album

*most addictive song(s):
AI – FAKE feat. Namie Amuro (and both remixes)
MiChi – All about the Girls ~Iijyanka Party People~, dance DANCE!
J – Moreumyeonseo (Feat. Seo Jung Hwan), Happy, Dream (Feat. Supreme Team), Dream, No. 5
Ayumi Hamasaki – Microphone, Sexy Little Things
CHEMISTRY – Period
Miss Mondey – Take It Easy
E.via – Shake!
Charice – Pyramid, In Love So Deep

album covers I like:
CHEMISTRY – Period
Ayumi Hamasaki – Rock ‘n’ Roll Circus (DVD)
school food punishment – amp-reflection
J.ae – Sentimental
Usher – Raymond V. Raymond

album covers I don’t like:
Ai Otsuka – Zokkondition / LUCKY☆STAR
MiChi – All about the Girls ~Iijyanka Party People~/ Together again

so what did you listen to this month?

Notes:
* means I really liked it!
# means I didn’t like it / was disappointed.
^ means I haven’t watched the PV
~ means that I have watched the PV
/means I couldn’t find a PV, or that I wasn’t interested

_______________________________________________________

Also, new to this year, I’m going to be posting up my last.fm stats. :)

Have a great year ev’one! ^_^

Entry filed under: Music, Music of the Month. Tags: .

Battle 29 Winner Battle 30 Winner

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Blue Mouse  |  Saturday, 5 June, 2010 at 3:48

    Raymond V Raymond – Amazing, Pulse – Amazing, same with Fake xx

    Reply
  • 2. Alisa from Sakurayume  |  Saturday, 5 June, 2010 at 15:30

    I was SO disappointed with Amp Reflection. You have no idea. None of the material was fresh like you expect SFP releases to be. I couldn’t believe that it was actually them. Never thought they’d put out a mess like that. I think their popularity attributed to the sudden need for an album and then they succumbed to that need and put out songs that weren’t up to par with any others. Yeah…

    As for Period by Chemistry.. yes yes yes YES! Adored it. I’m biased, as it was a Fullmetal opening theme, but the song is totally epic.

    Sorry for the big rant. I’ve just missed you, is all. Glad to see you post again. :)

    Reply
  • 3. Ty_Sylicus  |  Saturday, 5 June, 2010 at 23:18

    That’s a “big” rant? It’s sad really. I mean, only three paragraphs cover two musical topics? =P

    But yes, Amp Reflection is so bad it actually hurts my feelings. Seems like all the debut albums were sub-par though. Among First Story, Red Moon, and Catch!, there’s only a handful of keeper songs! Sad really. Makes me question if my tastes are changing. :/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


“Where there’s a Will, there’s a way.”

look here for older stuff

blogs to LOVE

Ty on Flickr

...My Amazon.com Wish List

I am a Resolute Protector

P.S. I Love You

Normalisr

Ty_Sylicus's Profile Page

